Living a Life of Passion in Your Twenties

dreams

Do you remember when you were a kid and all the dreams you had? You wanted to be an astronaut, a fire fighter, a singer, a lion tamer. The possibilities were endless. Then, somewhere between adolescent dreams, high school aspirations, the wandering years of the college, and the real world, you lost sight of those dreams. Your focus became more on practicality, making a living and having a 401k.

Well, attention ladies and gentlemen, I’d like to take you down memory road, back to your childhood dreams. What passions have your buried in an effort to make a steady paycheck? What dreams have you forgotten in the grunt of real world work? Take those dreams off the shelf, dust them off and unearth whatever desires, goals and passions are inside of you. Here’s a light bulb moment for you: Your twenties are not the time to give up on your childhood dreams. This is the time where you make it or break it. So keep going!

Twenty Something Advice (for Anybody):

“Don’t quit your day dreams. Don’t forget to breathe. Who you want to be, is only up to you.” Tori Kelly

Someone recently asked me to write about my greatest passion. Below is a small excerpt from what I wrote. Take a minute to read my passion statement (as I like to call it). Then take some time to write your own. The twenties is no time to quit on your dreams. As one wise person once said, “Believe in yourself. If you don’t, who will?”

Passion Statement:

Words and I have had a sort of love affair for as long as I can remember. Writing has been the one constant throughout the entirety of my 24 years of life. A pen and paper have been my everyday companions. As a kid, I would fill the pages of journals, scribbling the mindless thoughts of an adolescent girl. Unlike some love stories, there was never any confusion between writing and my affection for it. It was love at first sight.

I have known that I wanted to be a writer since I was 10 years old. What I didn’t know, however, was that writing was not my passion. The older I got the more I realized that writing is my gift. It’s a talent, a skill, an ability I have been given. While, I love words, I have found that my biggest passion is not writing itself, but the power of writing and how I can use it to impact other people.

Someday I hope to be a women’s magazine editor, using words and creative media to make a difference in the lives of women everywhere. I dream of being a sceenwriter and watching my words come to life on the big screen. My words will fly off the pages of magazines, fill scripts and storyboards, and most importantly, change lives. The gift of writing that I have been given will be used to bring hope to other people.

My love affair with words will never end. Words and I will be constant partners in the dance of life. Hand in hands, as we dance across lines of paper, we will fill the hearts, minds and lives of readers. We will splash color onto the cracks and crevices of dull canvases. We will spill light over onto dark places in need of a little sunshine. We will bring hope to hopeless people.

– Stephkt

Leave a Reply

