There is Only Where We Are

“There is no place that we should be. There is only where we are.” When I read this quote the other day, I was stopped dead in my tracks. A little taken aback, the author was clearly reading my mail. She was definitely talking to me.

Discontentment. Restlessness. Impatience.

Any of those words could describe the twenties. What do you do when the life you have doesn’t look like the life you planned? Do you quit and throw in the towel? Do you drown your sorrows in a bottle of Jack? Or do you stay faithful where you’re at and not quit?

roadI’d like to say the latter is always my first response when my dreams seem far away and the day to day grind is becoming all too monotonous, but that is not always the case. Sometimes, I too, want to give up.

But here is what that little quote reminded me….Life will never look exactly like we thought or planned it to. So it’s our job to keep putting one foot in front of the other, even when it gets hard, especially then. The twenties are such a grueling time, full of change, loss, adversity. It will show you the stuff you’re made of. I’d like to encourage you to see that the stuff you are made of is courage, perseverance, resilience, persistence, creativity, and all the bounce back power you could ever need.

Twenty Something Advice (for Anybody):

“There is no place that we should be. There is only where we are.”

So maybe your life at 21, 24, 29 doesn’t look like what you thought it would. Isn’t that true for most of us? Instead of focusing on what you don’t have or where you think you ought to be, make the most of where you are now, what you have now and the people in your life now.

“But Stephanie, I’m tired. But you don’t know my situation. I’ve been stuck in a rut for so long. I’ve lost direction. My dreams seem so far away.” If we were together this very moment, I’d grab your hand and tell you to seize the day. In all of it’s imperfection, madness and chaos, seize the day. Make the most of where you are at. Stay faithful. Because all we have is now. Keep going my friend. Keep putting one foot in front of the other.

– Stephkt

Leave a Reply

