Never Stop Celebrating

I had the wonderful privilege of turning 24 this past Wednesday and man do I feel old! The sentiments of feeling old probably have more to do with my personality than my actual age. I am an old soul. I think I was going on 35 when I was just 13.

Birthdays are a great thing. I look at them as an opportunity to reflect, a time to look back at the last year of ups and downs and the years before and assess how I have changed. 23 was certainly a year of growth for me. A mixture of laughter, tears, loss, love, stepping outside my comfort zone, trying at new things and sometimes failing, it was a year for the books. It was definitely a year worth remembering.

A friend of mine turned 24 a few months before me, and when I wished her a happy birthday, I asked her what her plans were to celebrate her day. I was quite disappointed to find that she didn’t have anything planned. My thought was, “It’s your day! You gotta celebrate you.” Now celebrating does not have to entail the typical night on the town, drinking and dancing. Celebrating can look like whatever you want, whether it’s going to the spa, treating yourself to a nice meal, time well spent with people you care about or sleeping in late.

Twenty Something Advice (for Anybody):

“Run, leap and celebrate for you are alive today!” Bryant McGill

The opportunities to celebrate are endless, but my friend didn’t find it necessary to celebrate. I believe her words were, “It’s just another birthday.” Stop there. Just another birthday? There’s no such thing. Yea, 24 may not be as much of a milestone as 18, 21 or even 50, but it’s a big deal. This your life were are talking about! If you don’t celebrate you, who will?

I don’t know about you but I never what to have the “just another birthday” mindset. I don’t want to cringe at the calendar when I realize I am another year older. I am 24 today and it is quite fabulous! I am so happy to be alive because I understand that not everyone made it to where I am today. I am so happy for the stumbling blocks, the mistakes and the lessons learned. I am so grateful for the people who have walked in my life. Even though some only came around for a season, they came to teach me something and I know I am better for it.

I am so grateful to see 24. As a twenty something, I think this is probably the best mentality to have, gratitude. Don’t waste time despising the fact that you are getting older. Embrace it. Embrace every season for what it brings. Don’t waste time wishing you were younger because you will miss out on your NOW.

Got to celebrate my birthday with several birthday dinners with family and friends this year, lots of cards and presents and a road trip with my best friend packed with ziplining, wine tasting and New Orleans cuisine. It was the best birthday yet!

-Stephkt

birthday220140907_192025     20140910_11023220140913_16384320140913_13590320140913_14362820140913_150645(1) birthday

2 thoughts on “Never Stop Celebrating

Leave a Reply

