Depression Sucks

In honor of Robin Williams and the millions of Americans who battle the monster known as depression.

Sunset on her breath

depressed annie

“Depression is such a cruel punishment. There are no fevers, no rashes, no blood tests to send people scurrying in concern, just the slow erosion of self, as insidious as cancer. And like cancer, it is essentially a solitary experience; a room in hell with only your name on the door.”

-Martha Manning

I’ve dreaded writing this post. I’ve known for a long time that I’ve needed to address this at some point or other, and in light of the suicide of Robin Williams and some other posts on depression I’ve seen floating around on social media, I felt like this was the right time to do it. 

I’ve never disclosed this part of my life on social media, and now I wonder why. Was it because I was scared? Embarrassed? Afraid to draw attention to myself for the wrong reasons? Whatever reason, it’s time I need to be humbled. 

View original post 950 more words

Leave a Reply

