Imperfection is Beauty

In elementary school, your teacher tells you to color inside the lines. Then you get to middle school, where your teachers and parents tell you where to go, what to study and whom to spend your time with. Next, high school comes around and everyone is perfectly grouped into different cliques: the jocks, the band, the cheerleaders, the brainiacs. Finally comes college, where everyone picks a major to study for the next four to five years, which you are then categorized by for the duration of your college career. There is always an order, a structure to things.

Life is much like the education system, orderly. There is a status quo for how we are expected to do things. There are certain standards that need to be met. This past week I was very much reminded that life doesn’t always go according to plan, and that’s okay. Not only is it okay, but it is also a beautiful thing.

In the chaos and mess of life, you find truth. The time when things get disorderly is also the time when growth happens and reality sets in. This past week, I roadtripped to Georgia to see family. A 12 hour drive. A LONG 12 hour drive. There were a lot of mishaps and unexpected occurrences along the way. To be honest, at first I allowed the unplanned parts of my roadtrip to stress me out, but then I realized that’s the whole fun of it!

Twenty Something Advice (for Anybody):

“Imperfection is beauty, madness is genius and it’s better to be absolutely ridiculous than absolutely boring.” Marilyn Monroe

Roadtrips, much like anything in life, are not supposed to be perfect! Once I arrived to Georgia, my time with my family was full of just as many surprises and unexpected people and things as my trip there. Instead of stressing it, I guess I needed to be reminded to just go with the flow.

Enjoy the beauty of the moment. Life will never be perfect. So if you get a blown out tire or any unexpected roadtrip buddy (like my brother) along the way, just breathe and go with it. I dare you to color outside of the lines. There is so much beauty that can be taken from the unplanned and unexpected. It all just depends on how you look at it.

– Stephkt

Family photos from last week

IMAG0512

IMAG0509

Leave a Reply

