Hope for a Bad Day

hopeful
Do you ever have days that are just terrible?! Days that are so awful, you can’t even find the words. I had a day like this just last week. I got my first speeding ticket. Then, I was late to work and ended up having to stay late to finish up some work. On top of that, I had six mosquito bites. Count ‘em! Six! I don’t know about you, but when I get bit by mosquitoes, my skin gets really red and the bites get so huge, it looks like I have a skin eating virus, only heard of in foreign countries. To add fire to the flame, a coworker and I seemed to be butting heads. All in all, it was a day I’d like to forget.

My bad day could have been a lot worse. That’s the thing about bad days, they can always be worse. As I was sitting in my car on the side of the highway waiting for the officer to write my ticket, for some strange reason I wasn’t freaking out. Even when I showed up to work, I was surprisingly calm. Before I clocked in, I said a quick prayer, calmed my anxieties and remembered that a bad day is not the end of the world.

Twenty Something Advice (for Anybody):

“Take a deep breath, it’s just a bad day, not a bad life.”

It wasn’t some magical moment. My bad day wasn’t erased, but I could feel my anxiety and worry starting to lift. The problems were all still there. The $150 ticket was still in my purse. The tension between my coworker and I was still there. The mosquito bites were still burning (badly, might I add). The work for the day was still piling up, but I had peace.

Here’s the thing about life: There will be good days and bad days. There will be moments when we succeed and moments when we fail. There will be victories and setbacks. There will be laughter and mourning. My faith gives me so much hope for the bad days. Through it all, I understand that peace of mind is something I can choose to have or choose to give away. I can always choose to hope. Even in a hurricane. Even in loss. Even in suffering. Even in death. Even on my worst day.

“When times are good, be happy; but when times are bad, consider: God has made the one as well as the other.” Ecclesiastes 7:9

I was quite surprised that I was able to handle my day without any tears or breakdowns. No bad words were said either! So when bad  things happen to me or when I mess up, I have learned and am still learning to choose to hope. Whatever it is, whatever comes my way, I can always choose peace. I am not gonna lie, of course I do not want to pay a $150 ticket! However, when I prayed that prayer at work and chose to no longer dwell on everything going wrong, I was resetting my focus, I was taking my eyes off all the bad around me and choosing to fix my eyes on the good.

Maybe you are having a bad day, week, month or even year. Maybe your bad day is a lot worse than a speeding ticket and being late to work. You might be dealing with an illness, the loss of a loved one, or a broken heart. Whatever you are walking through today, know this: There is always hope. You can choose to hope. While you cannot always choose the hand you are dealt in life, you can choose how you will respond. Choose to hope even on a bad day.

-Stephkt

Leave a Reply

