The Long Way Home

adventureHave you ever just gotten in your car and just gone? No particular destination in mind, but just went? That’s what my best friend and I did this past weekend and can I just say it was some of the most fun I have had in a long time!

One thing on my bucket list is to travel to all 50 states. When I say travel, I mean actually do something in each state, rather than just passing through. While I am living in Oklahoma I figure it is important that I get a chance to go to all its bordering states.

This past weekend’s destination: Arkansas. I know what you are thinking, “Arkansas?!?” Yes, you read right. We went to Arkansas, the natural state. I was happy to find that Arkansas has a lot of untapped beauty. From the mountains and the big blue skies and the serene rivers, Arkansas provided a beautiful backdrop for our road trip.

We traveled to the Ozark Mountains and Eureka Springs and boy, did it not disappoint. There was horse back riding, mini golf, a couple of wineries, caves, and we even got to see a couple of people skydive! The mountains were beautiful. The trip was full of laughter, singing along to some of our favorite European artists (Great Britain seemed to be our theme for some reason) and lots of crazy driving (that was my fault).

Twenty Something Advice (for Anybody):

“Take the long way home.”

 As we were driving up the steep curves of the Ozark Mountains, I turned to my friend and said, “Are moments like these amazing?! There’s so many beautiful things to see and do. Someday we won’t be able to do this, just pack our bags and go! I want to enjoy it while I can.” She nodded her headed in agreement and smiled.

Life is short. Sorry to tell it like it is, but this life is here today and gone tomorrow. I want to live to the fullest. I want a life full of random road trips with my best friend and traveling to places I have never been or heard of. I want to go to countries where I don’t speak the language. I want to do things that push me and force me to step outside of my comfort zone. I don’t want to just exist. I want to live and live well.

It seems like in our twenties, we are always looking for balance in this new season of life. We look for stability in career and relationship. We are looking for our new normal.  While finding that is good and dandy, I think we should be careful in settling for just normal. I don’t know about you, but normal isn’t good enough for me. I want adventure! I will have time for normal when I am married and a mom someday, and even then I want to find the fun in that season. The twenties should be about stepping outside of the box and doing things that you weren’t able to do in adolescence and that you probably won’t want to do when you’re older. It should be about challenging yourself to do more than you ever thought possible.

Color outside the lines a little. You can do that. And by all means, when you are on a journey, remember to take the long way home. Seek adventure and you will find it. Guaranteed, you will have some great stories to tell your grandkids someday!

Here are some photos from the trip!

OzarkMountains IMG_6195 IMG_6070 IMG_4790-Stephkt

2 thoughts on “The Long Way Home

Leave a Reply

