Step Up to the Plate

 baseball

As a kid, I remember my Sunday afternoons being dedicated to baseball. It’s my dad’s favorite sport. If you want to make my dad smile, just mention anything baseball related and he will talk your ear off for a good hour. My best friend is also an avid baseball lover. We both agree that she will more than likely marry a baseball player. In high school, I was even friends with the entire softball team. Even with all these baseball ties, I am not a baseball fan.

There is one cool thing that baseball has taught me though: the importance of stepping up to the plate, i.e. having courage in the face of fear. The twenties is such a period of newness. You could be in college, where you meet new people, study new subjects and travel new places. You could be a college graduate in a new city or at a new job. Small fish, big pond, anyone? Maybe you’re single and looking to start a new relationship. The twenties are extremely fluid and full of new things.

Twenty Something Advice (for Anybody):

“You can’t hit a home run, unless you step up to the plate.”

With all the newness that the twenties presents, there is an opportunity for me to respond with either courage or fear. But here’s the thing: If I never choose to step up, to take that new job or introduce myself to a potential new friend, the opportunity will fall by the wayside. I have to be willing to step up to the plate. I may miss or strike out, but hey, I’ll never know until I am willing to try.

There’s a really big world out there, full of new opportunities and chances for you to take. Don’t be afraid of failure. Guaranteed you will mess up at times, but practice makes perfect. Put yourself out there and be willing to take risks, even if it means failing big. Because the only way to win big is to take the chance of losing. You’ll never know until you go. You are only in your twenties once. So take a few risks, make mistakes, learn from them and keep going in the direction of your dreams.

– Stephkt

Leave a Reply

