A Story of Hope

hopeIn honor of my mom, I got to share my and my family’s story for Mental Health Awareness Month in Beautifully You magazine. I hope you will read it and share it with anyone who is living with a mental illness or is a family member or friend of a mentally ill person. More than anything, I hope you will read this part of my story and feel encouraged in whatever struggles you may have, encouraged to hope, encouraged to keep going when it is hard, encouraged to live.

Click here for the story: In Honor of My Momma

Twenty Something Advice (for Anybody):

“The stars are always there but we miss them in the dirt and clouds. We miss them in the storms. Tell them to remember hope. We have hope.” Renee Yohe, TWLOHA

 

Thanks for reading!

-Stephkt

3 thoughts on “A Story of Hope

  1. Hello Stephanie. As also a daughter of a bi-polar mother, your story moved me. I would love it if you gave my recently published memoir a read. You can find it on Amazon. You are brave to put your story out there. I did the same, choosing this month because of it being National Mental Health Awareness Month, in hopes that others would find my story and find hope and encouragement that they are not alone. Here is the link if you’d like to have a look. All the Best~ Julie
    http://www.amazon.com/My-Haunted-House-Within-Darkest-ebook/dp/B00K1XHYOQ/ref=sr_1_9?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1398962651&sr=1-9&keywords=Julie+Buchanan

    • Thank you for reading Julie! It can be hard and daunting sharing this part of your story. It isn’t the pretty, nice picture we would hope to paint. But it has taught me so much about compassion and about what love looks like! I love connecting with people like you who have walked through similar experiences and know the hurts, the questions, the fears and the difficulty in having a mentally ill family member. I will definitely check out your memoir! I would love to connect with you! My email is stephanie.k.taylor@okstate.edu.

      Best,
      Stephanie

Leave a Reply

