A Cinderella Story

As I loaded heavy trash bags onto the dolley and rolled them and several (hundred it seemed) boxes to the not so rosey smelling garbage drop, I could only think in my head, “This can’t be the end of my story. This has got to be the part where I am sweeping floors and serving people like Cinderella, but there’s got to be more.”

Feet aching, back sore, feeling defeated, I finished performing the closing duties at my part-time (on the verge of full-time with all the hours I was working) second job at the Mall of America. Working two jobs and having barely enough energy to do anything but sleep wasn’t my ideal post-college life. I had done everything I was supposed to in school. Dreamed big. Worked really hard. So what was the deal? Why did I find myself waking up at 6:00 a.m. to get ready for work and getting home at 11 p.m.? Why was I sick almost every day of the week? Why was I too cranky and tired to want to hang out with my roommate and her friends? Why did my heart break every time I wrote a check for the rent or bought groceries? This couldn’t be my story. There had to be more. Right?

Image

Here’s the thing that I have learned. Life takes work, often really hard, grueling, painful work. So often we want the green pastures and rolling hills without actually doing the work. We, you and I, have to put in the work to get where we are going and after we have done everything there is to do, we wait. Life requires a lot of time and patience I am learning.

At 22, I often find myself imagining what my life will be like at 30. House, husband, kids, amazing career. I envy 30-year-olds sometimes. They seem so poised and confident. They seem to have it all together. And then I stop and I wonder if maybe 30-year-olds look at us 20-somethings the same way. Maybe they look at us with envy, thinking “I wish I was her age again, carefree, passionate, the world at her fingertips.” Then I stop and the whole “the grass isn’t always greener” metaphor suddenly makes sense. Maybe what I, and anybody who is going through a season of change, growing pains and hurdles, need to do is stop and smell the roses as we wait.

Twenty Something Advice (for Anybody):

“Good things come to those who wait.”

What I am finding is that so many people, including myself, want the fairytale ending but forget the part where Cinderella, and all of her princess counterparts, had seemingly insurmountable odds to overcome. There is no such thing as an overnight success or instant fairytale ending. But do you know what is a fairytale? Your story. My story. The hard days and the good days, they are all a part of the magical fairytale you are telling. They are a part of the master plan God has for you and I. They are a part of the blueprint to shape you and make you into a better person.

Sometimes I sit and imagine what my life will be like. What kind of man will I marry? How many children will we have? What magazine will I work at? What kind of movies will I write? Will I get the chance to move back to New York? Will I ever have the coveted zip code 90210? Will my husband and I settle down eventually in the south? Will I get to check off everything on my bucket list? Will I see all 50 states and travel overseas? Will I be able to take care of my parents? Will I make an impact on young women? Will I make a difference?……….I hope reading that didn’t give you as much of a headache as it does when I think like that.

What I am learning is the importance of trust. For me, my faith is in God and trusting that He has a plan for my life. I have hope. In the hard times, I believe that I am being shaped and molded into a better person. During seasons of loneliness, I trust that I am learning to stand on my own two feet with independence and confidence. In times of confrontation and strife, I believe I am learning how to better communicate, listen and speak up for myself. In times of change, I believe I am being thrust into the world to grow. In times of quiet and stillness, I know I am learning  to trust and wait.

So stop trying to rush through life. Stop trying to get the fairytale ending without first doing the work and the waiting. Nothing will happen before it’s time. After you have busted your tail to earn your dreams, breathe. Your time will come.

Here is a perfect song with that message: Daley- Those Who Wait. Enjoy!

-Stephkt

4 thoughts on “A Cinderella Story

  1. You were talking to me. It was such a joy to read this. I read every sentence shaking my head yes. When you think about it, it’s unbelievable to think that everything happens the exact way its supposed to.

    I often sit back and try to figure everything out myself, wrap my head around things, but I guess that defeats the whole purpose of life and its journey right? We definitely should talk soon. Great post, Steph!

    Courtnee

  2. Hi Stephanie, you amaze me. Jeff and I read your blog. It is so insightful! You are so much wiser than your age. Your writing is very engaging. You draw your reader into the subject. This is excellent!!! I like the song too.

Leave a Reply

