The End of the World As YOU Know It

Hello blogesphere!

I have recently reemerged into the social media world (I have been off of Facebook for about a year and off Twitter for a few months). Now that I have been posting a lot more on social media, I seem to have been neglecting my blog. Well not to worry! I am back at it, cultivating content from the mind of a curious and eager 20-something, learning something new every day.

The inspiration for today’s post comes from a friend of mine back in Tulsa. She is 19 going on 20 and in the middle of a really bad breakup. As I sat going through her text messages, trying to find the perfect bit of advice to give her, I asked myself “What advice would I give myself two years ago?”

phone-call I was just like my friend when I was 20. I was at a crossroads, experiencing a breakup….and to tell you the truth I was devastated. So I thought looking back over the past two years, what would I have wanted to know? Out of the realest and most painstakingly honest part of my soul came the words…..”It is not the end of the world.”

I will be honest…sometimes I can be a little dramatic. Tell that to me a few years back and I would have hated you, but it’s true. When I had my heart broken, I remember the pain feeling like a tangible object that I carried with me everywhere I went. It hurt so badly. I really didn’t think that I’d ever get over it. But here’s what I have learned: Sometimes the thing that seems so painful is really the most beautiful. Don’t get me wrong, heart breaks and break-ups suck. They really do! But they are not the end of the world or your world.

lightindark

Life is all about perspective. So maybe it’s possible that my friend’s breakup, this seemingly painful and horrible thing, is actually something beautiful, the start of something new. The end of one thing is really an opportunity, to change, to grow, to learn and to become stronger. The beauty about the death of one thing is that it leads to the birth of something new.

So yes, breakups, heart breaks, the loss of someone or something you love….. it is all hard. As twenty-somethings, I feel like this is such a big part of our lives. I am learning that life is fluid. Everything is interim. All we have is today, right now, this moment. I am learning to embrace life for what it is, bitter and yet oh so sweet, full of ups and downs and highs and lows. Seasons come and go, but I want to embrace each season for what it brings, even the painful ones. Yesterday is gone and tomorrow is not here yet. All we have is today. So when life gets you down, please remember (unlike my dramatic 20-year-old self)  to embrace the ebbs and flows of each season. It is not the end of the your world (but maybe the beginning of a new one).

newroad

Related media: Music- Carrie Underwood: Good in Goodbye
Literature- Shauna Niequest: Bittersweet

-Stephkt

One thought on “The End of the World As YOU Know It

Leave a Reply

