With Arms Wide Open

Image

I’ve heard time and time again that there is nothing new under the sun. (Actually one of my older posts was exactly about this topic: https://stephkt.wordpress.com/2012/10/05/nothing-new-under-the-sun/)

One word of wisdom that I am realizing the importance of is about living with your arms wide open. You know that saying, “If something or someone is yours, let it go. if it is meant to be, it will come back to you.” My dad once gave me this wise bit of advice, and I let it fall by the waist side at the time. Knowing me, I probably disregarded it because as a twenty-something of course I KNOW EVERYTHING! (sense my sarcasm please)

In my 22 years of life, I have had a number of things pass me by. Whether it be relationships, friendships, jobs, colleges I was applying for, in my life some things, well a lot of things, have seemed to slip through my fingers no matter how hard I tried to hold onto them. Being the control freak that I formally was (and am currently growing out of), I tried to force things and people into my life that weren’t meant to be. Looking back, the harder I tried to fight for these things, the more they seemed to evade me.

Here’s what I have learned: Life is just as much about holding on as it is about letting go. It is important to balance the two and to know the difference. While you are fighting and struggling to hold onto that relationship, maybe you are missing the lesson you need to learn from it. Instead of holding onto to that friendship that seems to be falling out, let it go and open the door for new friendships to take its place. Instead of seeing not getting that job or into that university as rejection, just know that there is something else out there for you.

A truth that I want to live by is to love well and live my life with open hands. I want to show up every day, pursue my passions, love others well, give my all and be willing to let go. This is not an excuse to not fight for things. I fervently believe in fighting for family, friends and love, but I also firmly believe in loving with arms wide open, giving my all and being willing to let go.

Will you join me and live this life with open arms and open hands?

Here are two great songs about that topic:

Stephkt

Leave a Reply

