Nothing New Under the Sun

The older I get, I realize more and more the importance of listening to the advice of people older and wiser than me. Yet when I find myself in tough binds with money, dating, education or any life experience that is new to me, I rarely have ever taken heed to the wise words of people older than me.

I know I am not alone in my need for youthful zeal and independence. We get so caught up in having fun and living life that sometimes we forget to hit the brakes and take time to really listen to people who have more experience and knowledge about life. I do believe that people have to learn for themselves but that doesn’t mean we can’t learn from other people’s mistakes too.

Nothing new is under the sun. I firmly believe that statement. Everything happening now has happened before in one way or another in times past. This is reassuring news for a twenty-two year old, who has experienced her share of trials and errors. It is good to know that there are people older than me who have had their mishaps, learned from them and survived.

I Peter 5:5 says “You younger people submit yourselves to your elders.” Even though it has taken me awhile to come to this realization. I am glad I did. I have learned the importance of listening, especially to people older than me. We have two ears and one mouth. I think our physical anatomy speaks for itself. We should be quick to listen and slow to speak.

So I thought I’d write about some of the many cliche sayings that I have heard growing up. I’ve come to realize how wise these sayings are. They are cliches because they are overused, but the reason is because they are true. At least I believe them to be. As they say, there is nothing new under the sun.

Image

-Time Heals All

I agree with this cliche to a certain extent. I think time and space can HELP a hurting or broken heart, but they do not necessarily heal it. I think healing comes from a proactive choice to pursue learning and facing past hurts and mistakes. Time helps but a person can definitely be hurt and angry for years even with the aide of time.

– Good Things Come to Those Who Wait

Great things take time and effort. It takes time to cultivate good things. Plant a seed, water it and wait for it to grow.

– What Goes Around Comes Back Around

You reap what you sow. How you treat people will certainly be repaid to you in time.

– The Night is Darkest Before the Dawn

I have seen this in my life and in others. Just when giving up seems inevitable, break through happens.

-What’s Done is Done

The past is in the past. You cannot change it. Learn from it and learn to let it go.

– Love is Blind

Love sometimes stops us from seeing the obvious and the things that are too hard to acknowledge.

– Laughter is the Best Medicine

I have known many tears. Laughter, pure and simple, is the a great way to bring hope and light to a dark situation.

– If You Love Something Set it Free

Love is selfless. You cannot force your love on another person. You must be willing to let him or her go. If that person comes back, then you were meant to be. If he or she does not come back, then learn all you can from that relationship and know that there is someone else out there for you.

– Beauty is in The Eye of the Beholder

People make fun of me for this but I sincerely believe that there is beauty in everything and every person. I don’t believe that people can be ugly. I hate to ever say that. What one person finds attractive, another may not but that doesn’t mean it doesn’t possess beauty. It is all in how you see it.

Feel free to comment on pieces of advice or cliche sayings you have been told time and time again.

One thought on “Nothing New Under the Sun

  1. Pingback: With Arms Wide Open | Stephanie K. Taylor

Leave a Reply

