Inspiration from an Old Friend

Hi Blogesphere!

I am trying to make it a habit to get on here a lot more. I love writing so you think that this wouldn’t be a problem. The truth that I have found is that the more positive, beautiful things and people I surround myself with, the more beauty I have within myself and the more complete I feel.  The more complete, happy and whole I feel, the more I have to write about. Like attracts like, as the saying goes. I try to surround myself with positive, honest good spirited things and people so that I can reflect this back to the world.

One person who I have found to have so much depth and honesty of heart is an old friend from Oklahoma State University, Adley Stump. Adley is best known to the world as a season 2 contestant on The Voice earlier in 2012.  To me, she is the curly haired, bubbly blonde from Tulsa, Oklahoma with the biggest heart for other people.  I met Adley my first year at OSU as a sophomore.  She was a junior and was the president of a club called To Write Love on Her  Arms.  TWLOHA is national not for profit organization that works to raise awareness about issues such as depression, cutting, bullimia and aneroxia.  Truthfully, it serves as means to connect any person who has struggles in life. When I first came to OSU I was dealing with a depression of my own and a recently diagnosed bipolar parent.  I was struggling with feelings of being alone, depression, unforgiveness and guilt.

All these feelings brought me to a TWLOHA meeting one night and there I met Adley. Adley and TWLOHA were amazing.  The people and the community I met there were so inspiring.  I found a place to share my grievances and also to learn compassion through hearing other people’s pain. Adley, like everyone in TWLOHA, had her story of pain, struggles and triumph.  I had so much respect for her after she shared her life story of struggles and lessons learned. Adley has always been a friend who I look up to for her ability to be raw and real while still loving others so well.

I recently saw a blog post she wrote on her website (adleystump.com) and to no surprise of my own, she has inspired me once again. Adley is what I like to call a beautiful soul.  Feel free to check out her website at adleystump.com and listen to her music.  See for yourself what I am talking about and read her a little bit of her post below!

“DO you love growing, learning, making mistakes and figuring out what it takes in your soul to pick yourself back up and keep going? Do you know how forgiveness feels, how to admit when you’re wrong, and how to create new ideas? If you’re living your life all for some dangling carrot in the future that you may or may not ever get or find, and you hate the grind and the process, but expect to love it “someday,” well, what if you don’t get “someday?” What if you just have today and these years with your family and friends and you didn’t take time to go out and enjoy your life, have nice dinners, go skiing, and create the “middle moments” that turn into memories you treasure later in your life.

My point is simply this, work HARD for what you want, but love the grind. Love the work it takes to get there, love people, and love the journey. Or you may be wasting your life, and precious, precious time.”

Stephkt

Leave a Reply

