Social Networking = Public Information

In today’s day and age, everyone is on the internet and is connected through the social network mania.  As college students, it almost seems like a requirement to be on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn or Youtube in order to survive.  I am not sure when this obsession first began but somehow it has evolved into the defining aspect of my generation.

I had a rude awakening the other day when a friend questioned me about something I posted on facebook.  I changed my relationship status and literally in minutes I started receiving text messages and in-person questioning from all of my friends.  I am somewhat a private person, so when my friends want to know the details of the hows, whens, and wheres, I have little response to give them.  But my friend gave me a sort of slap in the face when she said, “When you put it on facebook, it becomes public information.”  While I would love to argue with this statement and state my case to the death.  I know in reality that she is correct.  You should not put anything online that you don’t want people to know.

The reason I love sites like Facebook is that it allows me to stay connected with people who I otherwise would not be able to talk to.  I moved away from my home in Michigan to Oklahoma when I was 16 and therefore missed out on a lot of monumental stepping stones with all my friends.  Facebook allowed me to stay connected with them.  Similarly, all the friends I have made from my high school in Oklahoma, the university I attended my first year of college and the different people I have met over the years, I am happy to be able to keep in touch with them.  It’s like they are closer because they are a click away but some of them may in reality be as far as states or countries away.

I guess Facebook and I have a hate/love relationship.   I love that it allows me to stay connected with people who I care about but am unable to talk to often.  However, I really hate people’s scrutiny and questions.  I guess I hate feeling like I am under another person’s microscope and hate the idea of people being in my business.  I guess that just comes with life, and since I am in college, it’s time to realize that really what people think doesn’t matter.  Although, I will definitely be sure to watch what I make public information, really people’s nosey eyes should not affect me.

Leave a Reply

