Love of Words

Today is another rainy, September day.  Tomorrow is my 20 birthday and fortunately for me, it is supposed to be clear and sunny skies tomorrow.  Days like today are pretty awesome though.  Although too many rainy days can definitely get a little depressing, a few now and then are refreshing and rejuvenating. 

Walking in the rain around a college campus is not exactly fun, I must admit.  Yesterday, I trampsed around campus in a dress and sandals.  Needless to say, this morning I woke up this morning feeling under the weather, with a minor head cold and chills.  After a little bit of cold medicine, coffee and granola, I am feeling much better.

Most of my days this semester start off with me putting a few hours in at my internship at the OSU Alumni Association magazine.  Today as I sit at the office, writing interview questions, reading background research and interviewing sources over the telephone, I am feeling very mellow, focused and productive.  It’s funny how the rain can do that to you. 

Even though I have a ton of work to get done today in the office, I must admit one of the first things I wanted to do this morning was update my facebook status.  I am the kind of person who updates my status a few times a week and when I do update, I love to put up a quote that describes my mood.  The quote can come from anywhere, a song, a speech, a movie or a book.  I just love finding quotes that move me, express how I am feeling or challenge me to live better.  There is actually a quote to describe my love of quotes.  It says: “I quote others only in order to better express myself.” -Michael  deMontaigne

I just absolutely love words.  I think it would be true to say that I am in love with words and writing.  In the future, I plan on becoming a magazine editor and screenwriter.  While the two aren’t exactly related,  I love the idea o having my words come to life on a movie screen and seeing them printed in a nationally published magazine.  My other passions are music and fashion.  So if I can mix those three  than I will definitely have the perfect career for me.

Rainy days like today make my kind of float outside of itself and I don’t mean that in a drug kind of way.  I just mean rainy does make me super productive and focused on all that I have to do today but they also have a way of making me look ahead.  Hence, why I needed a quote to up date my facebook status with.

Today’s facebook status reads:  ‎”The most difficult lie I have ever contended with is this: life is a story about me.” Donald Miller

I think it’s a good quote to think about as I get done all my work today.  Life is so much bigger than the here and now.  Even though I am so focused on all the things I have going on and the work I have to get done in the immediate future, there is more to life than me and my stuff.  Just food for thought.

Leave a Reply

