The Sunny Side of Things

Waking up for my first class of the fall semester is not easy, especially when that class is at 8:00 a.m. and I didn’t go to sleep until around 2:00.  I guess the bright side of waking up for an early morning class is not having to walk in the dead heat.  Today is supposed to be another Ozone Alert Day and I’d hate to show up for my first class hot and already dehydrated.  I’m from Michigan so me and hot weather really just do not go hand in hand.

Fortunately for me, my first class is a Journalism class, Electronic Communication to be exact.  So at least I am in a course that I find interesting and relates to what I want to do career wise.  In Electronic Communication, we will be learning about blogging, video, podcasting and all the cool (excuse me for using such a lame adjective) aspects of journalism.  I could definitely use some training and teaching in the “multimedia” aspect of this field of study so I am actually very excited for this class.

What I am not looking forward to is walking around campus later in the day when it gets really hot.  I have to buy books and find classes and I am not sure where to get food on campus.  My hope is that it will get cooler as the days go on.  This is my hope.  A girl has gotta dream, right?

I guess it is best to look at the bright side of things, like the old adage says.  I made it to my first class on time.  The professor and my classmates seem pretty nice so far.  The topic of the class seems pretty interesting.  I think I will make it just fine through this semester after all.  My body will just have to adjust to waking up at 7:00 a.m. on Monday mornings.  It is okay though, just no more late nights before Monday morning.  That way the sun will be a beautiful site to see in the early morning instead of a pestering nuisance.

— Stephkt

Leave a comment